The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) has named 35 Arizona schools with the No Place for Hate designation for the 2016-2017 school year. On May 4, these schools were recognized for creating safe and respectful learning environments and bringing awareness to the issues of bullying and bias. The event included an activity fair and banner presentation at Phoenix College.

At the celebration, ADL announced that Sarah Steele, a teacher at both Trailside Point Performing Arts Academy and Paseo Point in Laveen Elementary School District, is the recipient of its Educator of the Year award. Under Steele’s direction, ADL has seen great strides and a true commitment to integrating No Place for Hate activities through classroom discussions, family interaction and campus beautification, according to a press release from ADL.

The No Place for Hate initiative provides schools and communities with an organizing framework for combating bias, bullying and hatred, leading to long-term solutions for creating and maintaining a positive climate.

No Place for Hate schools receive their designation by building inclusive and safe communities in which respect is the goal, and all students can thrive; empowering students, faculty, administration and family members to take a stand against hate and bullying by incorporating new and existing programs under one powerful message; engaging schools and communities in at least three anti-bias activities per year, which ADL helps to develop; and sending a clear, unified message that all students have a place to belong.

“This celebration is an opportunity to recognize No Place for Hate partners for their year-long commitment to creating safe, respectful and inclusive school communities,” said ADL Arizona Regional Director Carlos Galindo-Elvira, in the release. “This initiative celebrates diversity and offers students tools and skills to succeed in a continually changing world.”

The 2016-2017 Designated No Place for Hate Partners are:

BASIS Oro Valley, Congregation Beth Israel, Deer Valley Unified School District (Anthem School, Gavilan Peak School and Sunset Ridge School); Gilbert Public Schools (Campo Verde High School, Desert Ridge High School, Gilbert High School and Mesquite High School); Horizon Community Learning Center (Horizon Honors Elementary School and Horizon Honors Secondary School); Higley Unified School District (Cooley Middle School, Higley High School and Sossaman Middle School), Ignite Yoga (after-school Programs supporting Avondale schools); Kyrene School District (C.I. Waggoner, Kyrene de las Lomas and Kyrene Middle School); Laveen Elementary School District (Desert Meadows School and Trailside Point School); Mesa Public Schools (Dobson High School and East Valley Academy); Mingus Union School District (Mingus Union High School); Paradise Valley Unified School District (Aire Libre Elementary School, Campo Bello Elementary School, Greenway Middle School, North Canyon High School, Shadow Mountain High School and Vista Verde Middle School); Phoenix College; Phoenix Elementary School District (Whittier Elementary School); Phoenix Union High School District (Franklin Police and Fire High School and North High School); Roosevelt School District (T.G. Barr School); and Scottsdale Unified School District (Arcadia High School).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.